Birding and IBS

For a while now I’ve wanted to write about my struggle with IBS and how birding helps. Like many people I don’t tend to talk about it as it can be quite embarrassing. That’s why I’ve been wanting to write this blog which I hope will raise awareness about this common condition as well as how I think birding and just being in nature really helps.

IBS stands for irritable bowel syndrome and about 2 in 10 people suffer from it in the UK. Symptoms range from pain and cramping in the stomach to fatigue and bloating. One difficulty is that you don’t know what you can and can’t eat, which is hard because you don’t know what is going to cause a flare-up. Also, for weeks and weeks you may not suffer with any symptoms and then suddenly feel ill again .

Triggers for a flare-up can be food and drink, stress or anxiety. Personally I believe stress and anxiety mainly set mine off. This is difficult to manage because sometimes if I go out I worry that I will suffer with the symptoms and then because of that anxiety I do. So really it’s a vicious cycle.

Birding and generally being in nature has been beneficial to me for the past few years. When I’m able to go out, just walking around a local park or reserve, has been enough to ease any symptoms. Focusing my mind on seeing what birds are about and what would make a good photo reduces any stress or anxiety. Just being outside is relaxing – fresh air, the sound of wind whispering through the trees, birds gliding in the sky above. So if you suffer with IBS or any stress/anxiety related condition and can get outside I would strongly recommend it.

Although I am limited to where I can go at the moment, I am hoping to be able to go further afield as soon as it starts to get better or when I feel I won’t get any symptoms. However I’m quite lucky that in my town there is quite a few green spaces, such as Tilgate and Buchan Park where I can go for nice walks.

Unfortunately I couldn’t manage to go to my planned trip to Bardsey this week, but I’m planning other smaller trips and meet-ups that I hope will slightly make up for it!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started